Daily Prompt: Together

170px-statue_of_liberty_7via Daily Prompt: Together

Together. We as humanity are not together. I look around at my community on a daily basis and I wonder why? Why you may ask is their no subject for this question. Common nicety has collapsed into a mass of rubble. In it’s place are walls we have put up.

I work in the hotel industry and I as an individual experience such as I am talking about every day. For instance, when a person says hello we use to respond. Now they walk on by pretending not to have heard me. We have made it okay to not say excuse me, or I apologize. These forms of common nicety have been replaced by “the bird” on the highway; and the sneer that suggests the other person is at fault. Unfortunately I see it reflected in the behaviorisms of the new generations. They do not stop and think about the food they eat, or the clothing they wear because it is dispensable. The attitude one shows for the regard of another person’s feelings is the “togetherness” I am writing about.

On a larger scale, than just one’s own community, we kill and pillage. Brash behavior is for some people acceptable. I believe, and this is a reflection on my own opinion(s), tolerance & togetherness should be merged into one phrase. Because we tolerate the way someone is, we are more likely to have an agreeable relationship. We should have religious tolerance because religion is a personal thing and not up for discussion. We should take the time to realize how others are feeling so we do not offend. Everything that the Victorian’s termed “manners” represents.

Togetherness is a representation of the consideration, and the love that we can harbor for everyone despite race, color, or creed.

 

“Give me your tired and your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free. The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. send these the homeless, tempest-tossed to me. I lift my lamp beside the golden shore.”

Statue Of Liberty

Humanity is a brother and sister-hood. We owe it to ourselves to take a moment and look around at the un-happy. If we could take some of our personal happiness and turn it into energy given to help another, than we shall have togetherness. For togetherness isn’t a state of being, it is a state of mind.

 

Leave a Reply

